Message from Michael SANDERLING(11/21 A Series, 11/25 Promenade)


©Marco Borggreve

To combine the symphonical works of Beethoven and Shostakovich has been interesting to me for quite some time. Both composers reflect on the social and political life of their time and period. Several of the symphonies reflect on the storm and stress of their times. and reveal the rapid dynamics and dramatic changes of tension so characteristic of both composers.
I am very happy to be able to present both composers with Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra in two very interesting concerts.

Michael Sanderling

Subscription Concert No.867 A Series

Wed. 21. November 2018, 19:00
Tokyo Bunka Kaikan

Michael SANDERLING, Conductor
KAWAMURA Hisako, Piano

Weill: Symphony No.2
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.1 in D-flat major, op.10
Shostakovich: Symphony No.6 in B minor, op.54

Promenade Concert No.380

Sun. 25. November 2018, 14:00
Suntory Hall

Michael SANDERLING, Conductor

Weber: Overture to “Euryanthe”, op.81
Hindemith: Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria von Weber
Beethoven: Symphony No.7 in A major, op.92